Beat the Delete #0022 ( New Music Recommendations)


New music submissions (‘new’ classes as less than a month from release) arrive at JPH from all sources, including band members, promo companies and the various follow buttons that I have clicked over the years at the various streaming sites etc…the following are among my  favourites that have  ‘beat the delete’ button in the last week.

Band: Lost Ships

Track:  All of the Pieces (EP) From: All of the Pieces (EP)   Label:  Subjangle Release date: 06 September 2019

As this release / act is via this blog’s very own label, some might consider it’s inclusion as nothing more than bias…that ‘some’ have plainly not listened to this jangly indie-pop brilliance !


Band: The Myth

Track:  Love Letter (balanced) From: Love the Music (Various Artists Compilation)   Label:  Entos Anomicos Release date: 06 September 2019

German label Entos Anomicos have been purveyors of the many variants of guitar-pop for well over 20 years. This compilation features everything from dream to jangle-pop on the gutar-pop spectrum and is typical of a superb quality of the release.


Band: Sheena, Anika and Augusta

Track:  For Billy From: Simple Pleasures (EP)   Label:  Asian Man Records Release date: 06 September 2019

For those mourning the recent split of Cayetana, this act featuring ex-member August Koch may stem the pain somewhat. It is all stripped down fuzzed pop and acoustics noodlings witha background laconic jangle to die for.


Band: Bananagun

Track:  Topcat From: Do Yeah (EP)   Label:  Mint Records Release date: 06 September 2019

Sacred Paws style jangled Afrobeat meets early 70s style psych-pop to provide a genuinely unique essence the the sound of this Melbourne act.


Band: The Last Detail

Track:  Killing Time From: Do Yeah (EP)   Label:  Elefant Records Release date: 06 September 2019

Fans of Armstrong / RW Hedges style adult contempo pop are going to love the swooning aura of the latest project by Erin Moran and Mehdi Zannad


Band: Clementines

Track:  Ukelele Song From: Home is Where The Art IS (EP)  Label:  Self released Release date: 06 September 2019

Kent, Ohio four piece add the anxious, tinny,  jangledriffs of UK 80’s bands like The Groove Farm and Flatmates to all things US 90 alternative pop. A truly superb sophomore release.


Band: The Roves

Track:  Hey Little Man From: Hey Little Man (Single)   Label:  El Rancho Records  Release date: Digital out now / vinyl single out 13.09.19.

The Roves present the biggest and arguably the best 12 string Rick sound around at present. All 60s psych melodies infused with Brit invasion attitude, there really is everything to like in their sound.


Band: Art Dave

Track:  The Boy from The 80s From: The Boy from The 80s (Single)   Label:  Self Released  Release date: 05.09.19.

Art Dave is the project of an as yet unnamed prolific multi-instrumentalist from Thailand. The instrumental version of this track mixes Seventeen years and  Berlin Wall slight jangle-gaze with everything that was fragile and precious from the late 80 anglo-indiepop arsenal.


Band: Atta Girl

Track:  九月​(​September​)​/​错过​(​Regret) From: Single   Label:  Boring Productions  Release date: 30.08.19

Any band named after a Heavenly track are already wearing their jangly indie-pop hearts on their sleeves and this Chinese act do not disappoint.


Band: Beloved Binge

Track:  Headspace From: Signals   Label:  Self Released  Release date: Flyer single out now, album pre-order ends 11 October 2019

If this flyer track from husband wife act Rob Beloved and Eleni Binge is any indication then this act’s sound is becoming increasing muscular with every release…however, they still have the coolest of indie-pop vibes and this pre-order was just too tempting to avoid!


Band: Cattle

Track:  Hey Hey Girl From: Sweet Dream, Tender Lights and Your Memory   Label:  Testcard Records  Release date: 04.09.19

Cattle flip effortlessly between genuine Japanese jangle-gaze and tracks like this one that are beautiful lsightly fuzzed, sweet, indie-pop. One of the better bands on the Japanese scene.


Band: Chastity Belt

Track:  Drown From: Chastity Belt   Label:  Hardly Art  Release date: Flyer track out now/album out on 20.09.19 (pre-order now)

Chastity Belt’s four album and third with Hardly Art see more of their beautiful Snail Mail on steroids sound for your aural pleasure. Modern jangle at it’s absolute best.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s