Album Review – We​’​re Almost There… 25 Years of Cheezy Pop By Half An Hour From The Airport (2024) (Self Released)

HalfanHour...
We’re Almost There… 25 Years of Cheezy Pop by Half an Hour From The Airport, with the exception of the brand new single We’re Sorta Strangers, is a compilation of the bands’ favorites from their What’d She Say (1998) and Dial Up The Phone (1999) albums, which naturally I am intimately familiar with as I am your favorite oracle of all that is good and jangly.
OK, now I feel bad as I have turned this blog into a receptacle for my ego-tickling lies, as in reality, much to my shame and chagrin, I have never heard of this band from Minneapolis, Minnesota, consisting of Justin Kleinman and Jason Nordenstam. However, I am glad my regular trawls through the roads less traveled on Bandcamp have led me to finding them.
Full of the cultish quirk-pop of mid-to-late-80s Anglo-Jangly indie-pop, the release takes a trip through all that was worthy to the 80s cardigan and side-parting wearers of the era.
As such, Sunnie Day, What’d She Say, and Without You twist the most recent Milk Aisle Gorbachev-style lo-fi twee through twisted Television Personalities‘ faux intricacies to offer an aesthetic that is so obtuse that it quickly becomes thoroughly beguiling.
Similarly, It’s A Secret, Dream of You, and 51 Fire Engines (Y2K) step over the edge of 90s and into 2000s jangly indie-pop with their stripped-back Dukes of Stratosphear aesthetic, whereas the slight outlier of All Through the Night feels like early C86/The Pastels after a gloriously heavy night.
A truly wonderful find for ‘you lot’, even if for me it is merely a re-acquaintance for this ‘oracle’ with an incredibly cool old friend.

OUR FAVOURITES


SOCIAL MEDIA

INSTAGRAM

FULL RELEASE


Leave a comment